c++ sadness

The last time I used C++ in any real capacity was during CS35.. which was freshman spring. Since then, I’ve used C and python mostly. To be honest, the thought of trying to go back into c++ was pretty daunting so I’ve been convincing myself that all my current and future needs would be met by python and maybe some javascript at most. I guess I’ve had this thought in the back of my mind that if I reallly needed to pick up c++, I would still remember enough to be able to pick it up and code at some intermediate level whenever I wanted.

Boy, was I wrong. I’m trying to solve some very basic statistics problems using C++ (literally, find the mean), and I’m floundering a bit more than I’d like to admit. I think I’m going to work through Koenig&Moo’s Accelerated C++ before I hurt myself and then come back to see if I can’t solve these then.

 

Leave a Reply

